Be your wonderful self

Your Wonderful Self Journal PageThere are times in life when we get so overwhelmed that we forget to take care of ourselves and take time to simply be. We can easily get distracted by projects at work or school or even by joyful events like a new baby or a new love. Eventually, our soul reaches a place where it feels off and we need to recenter.

My lovely daughter Amber is off at college. We did not get into the nitty gritty details of what’s going on with her college life but it sort of sounded like she needed to take some time to just be her wonderful self. So, that was all I said that day we texted and spoke. I am learning to be empathetic and listen, not to judge or try to solve her problems. She is grown and I’m still learning how to be the best parent I can be. I still have my son at home and we have several years of practice ahead.

Close up of Wonderful Self BunnyThe next day I checked in with her. I needed to hear her voice and so we talked about the weather finally cooling off and how much we love fall. She felt better that day and had taken some time for herself. I emailed her a copy of my journal page inspired by her. We are both arty and our art is a huge bond between us. She told me on her last visit home that she was so grateful to have been raised in an artistic home. So now, I have my journal to remember the day and she has a copy to remember to take time to be her wonderful self.

Leave a Reply

